Last updated
You are Our Visitor.
Please Email Additions/Corrections to Webmaster

County Durham lies on the German Ocean, and bounded by Northumberland, Cumberland, Westmoreland, and Yorkshire. This county was formerly under the special jurisdiction of the bishop of Durham as a Prince Palatine, but in 1836 the palatinate was vested in the crown. (GENUKI; Barclay's Complete and Universal English Dictionary, 1842.)

County Durham was divided into wards, analogous to hundreds.

Combs &c. Records by Wards and Parish in which Combs and Associated Families have been found thus far

1666 Hearth Tax