Baker County, was established in 1825. Descendant Counties include Calhoun (1854), Dougherty (1852), Miller (1856), Mitchell (1857), and Randolph (1828).

1845-1852 (from Albany, Geogia, Newspaper Clippings, Volume 1: 1845-1852, extracted by Barbara Moss)

My wife, Sarah CUMBEST, having left my bed and board without any provocation whatever, I hereby fore warn all persons from trading with her, or entertaining her in any way whatever, as I am determined to enforce the law on any one that harbors her.

(Signed) James CUMBEST, Albany

Note: More than likely, this notice appeared before the existence of Dougherty County, when Albany was still part of Baker County.

Return to Combs &c. of Georgia

Last updated
You are Our Visitor Since 19 Apr 2005
Please Email Additions/Corrections to Webmaster