Walton County, was established in 1818 from Cherokee lands. Descendant Counties include Henry County and Newton County (both in 1821), and Barrow County in 1914. The county seat is Monroe.

1830 Walton Co, GA Census

(transcribed by S. C. Hefner)

p. 140

COMBY, Terrey
1 m < 5; 1 m 10-15; 1 m 60-70
2 f 5 -10; 1 f 20-30

1836-1839 (from Volunteer Soldiers in the Cherokee War 1836-1839; [No author cited]; Moutain
Press; Signal Mountain, TN; 1995; from the Adjutant General's Office files of Compiled Service records of the soldiers listed in Group 94, giving only the name, rank, and unit; extracted by Thom Montgomery)

COMBS, William, Private, Georgia, Fariss's Company - Lindsay's Mounted Militia

Return to Combs &c. of Georgia

Last updated
You are Our Visitor Since Our Move on 24 Feb 2001
Please Email Additions/Corrections to Webmaster