Whitfield County, was established in 1851 from Murray and Walker Counties. Land was taken to help form Catoosa County in 1853. The county seat is Dalton.

1860 Whitfield Co, GA Census

(transcribed by S. C. Hefner)

Smith District

p. 637

890-890 Wm. S. COMBS 27 M Farm laborer SC
Nancy A. 23 F GA
Webster 3 M GA

1864 Militia Census

(1864 Census for Re-organizing the Georgia Militia. Abstracted and compiled by Nancy J. Cornell. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 2000. Extracted by S. C. Hefner)

43rd Senatorial District, 872nd Militia District

COMBS, J. C., 49 yrs., Farmer, b. Overton Co., TN, Exempt: Representative Hamilton Co., TN

Return to Combs &c. of Georgia

Last updated
You are Our Visitor Since Our Move on 24 Feb 2001
Please Email Additions/Corrections to Webmaster