Last updated
You are Our Visitor.
Please Email Additions/Corrections to Webmaster

New Jersey Counties to 1800: The East Jersey Province was created in 1673, with courts established in 1675. In 1681 West Jersey Province established the courts of Burlington and Salem, and in 1683, the four original provinces of Bergen, Essex, Middlesex and Monmouth were created in East Jersey Province. In 1685 the Cape May court was est. from West Jersey (Burlington Court), and in 1686 Gloucester Court created from Burlington Court (WJ). Additional changes took place in boundaries between 1686 and 1702, and in that year the West and East Jersey provinces were merged. In 1714, Hunterdon was established from Burlington and Somerset was organized. In 1739, Morris was created from Hunterdon, and in 1748, Cumberland from Salem. In 1753, Sussex was organized from Morris. Over the years, numerous additional changes/exchanges took place between counties, as well as with the state of New York. (Trenton) Mercer Co, NJ was formed in 1838 from Somerset, Middlesex, Hunterdon and Burlington. Woodbridge is in present-day Middlesex NJ. Pennington was earlier in Hunterdon. Thus far, the earliest Combs New Jersey record is in 1700 in Monmouth County.

Combs &c. New Jersey Counties of Record

CountyYearParent CountyCounty Seat
Atlantic1837GloucesterMays Landing
Bergen1683Province of East JerseyHackensack
Burlington1694Province of West JerseyMount Holly
Cape May1692Province of West JerseyCape May Court House
Essex1683Province of East JerseyNewark
Gloucester1686Province of West JerseyWoodbury
Hudson1840BergenJersey City
Mercer1838Burlington, Hunterdon, Middlesex, SomersetTrenton
Early records (1683 - 1775)
Later Records (1800- ?)
1683Province of East JerseyNew Brunswick
Early records (1683 - 1800)
Later Records (1800- ?), including Deed Index
Births, Baptisms, Burials and Family Records
1683Province of East JerseyFreehold
Ocean1850MonmouthToms River
Passaic1837Bergen, EssexPaterson
Salem1694Province of West JerseySalem